GNOME Forums are coming!

I can’t say much more than whats in the title just yet, but I thought I’d give everyone a heads up – forums for GNOME users, developers, etc are in the works! Hopefully soon we’ll be building a community of users, contributors and other interested folks to make GNOME better than ever! Stay tuned!

If you have suggestions or are interested in helping out, please let me know. My contact info is on the “About” page, or leave a comment with your  contact details and I’ll get back to you ASAP 🙂

18 Responses to “GNOME Forums are coming!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Sounds like a good idea.

  2. Jimbo Smiths Says:

    Good god. I never thought I’d see the day.

    This is a very important step for Gnome, one which will hopefully bridge the disconnect between the many parts of the Gnome community. Things are about to get very… interesting.

    Thank you.

  3. Chaz6 Says:

    Please please provide an nntp interface for those of us who like to read forums in a standard way!

  4. andre klapper Says:

    As there have been unofficial forums in the past and as I personally don’t know many developers that like forums (compared to mailing lists and IRC): Is it clear that there is a need for forums? Has it been considered to merge it with mailing lists / newsgroups, like Mozilla does (see https://www.mozilla.org/about/forums/ )?

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Very good. Maybe this the first step in “fixing GNOME”. Hope this is not to late.

  6. Adam Williamson Says:

    Great idea, but…Other commenters have touched on this, but in my experience, things simplify pretty cleanly down to ‘many users love forums, most developers hate forums’. So you need some sort of method for bridging that gap – whether it’s a _good_ forum/NNTP or forum/listman connection of some kind, or community managers (volunteer or paid) to liaise, or something else…but you need something. Getting developers to read forums is a task I long since gave up as unpossible (if you manage it, let me know the secret and I’ll buy you many, many drinks!)

    • Sri Ramkrishna Says:

      I’m pretty sure that developers are not going to be participating in the forums much. Not to be negative, but it will require people like myself and Emily and others to bridge the gap. More importantly, if we can recruit more people to do that, then things will get easily, so it will be important once things get setup that we can find natural leaders who can canvass for us.

    • jewelfox Says:

      Recruit developers who are more comfortable with forums than mailing lists. ~.^

  7. Tshepang Lekhonkhobe Says:

    Why not just a Q&A, as is done with http://unix.stackexchange.com? There is a whole bunch of FLOSS clones: http://meta.stackoverflow.com/a/37953/147166.

  8. Anders Says:

    Yay! About time. Users love forums!

  9. jewelfox Says:

    This is awesome, and I wish you luck! What sort of help would you need with it? It seems like you’ll need a pretty good team of moderators and very clear policies if you don’t want it to become like most mailing lists.

  10. Y.A. Says:

    Forum has no plural.


Leave a reply.